Some Thing’s Weird 1 (BELP-Mutants/ST37 Live)

SOME THING’S WEIRD (#1)Some Thing's Weird Prof.

I decided to start a series within the blog here to post some of the stranger videos that comes across my desk. The series title is bit of an homage, for those in the know…

BELP-MUTANTS

I know nothing about this first video, other than that it is shot in a semi-silent film/Stop-animation style, very artistically done.  The music is experimental sound collage, I think I hear a Throbbing Gristle sample about 1:30 in…

‘Based on Material from Jan Lenica. Edited by Konrad Hirsch.
The Music is Part of a 4-Track EP on Soundcloud:


ST37-(AUSTIN)

photo (16)

Next up are a couple of live vids from ST37 out of Austin. I have one record of theirs called ‘Secret Society’ that I bought in the 90’s and fell in love with instantly, though I’d be careful with these guys under any psychedelic influences! They recently played with Acid Mothers Temple in Austin so that is the first I’ve heard anything about them since obtaining that one record years ago. The drummer was the drummer on Roky Erickson and Evil Hook Wildlife ET EP, which I also have.

Roky Erickson Evil Hook ET

The first video is from 2000 where they lay down a dirty, space rock, swirling psychedelic guitar laden version of Cold Night For Alligators:

 

This next video is from Jan 2015 where they performed at Trailer Space Records in Austin, this one is nicely effected:


2 thoughts on “Some Thing’s Weird 1 (BELP-Mutants/ST37 Live)”

Leave a Reply

