Swarm (Shake Some Action!)

Went back into the archives for this one. Recently my band had a gig in Oakland and as we pulled up and double parked 2 vehicles in order to quickly offload some gear and go park, we were suddenly swarmed by cyclists! Mostly dressed up in party attire and some of the bikes were outfitted with hefty sound systems and crazy lights, probably running on cycle generated power! The Bay Area is home to Critical Mass so we’re no stranger to these impromptu masses of cyclists, but we got stuck in the road there for a good 30 minutes before we could move our cars! Best to enjoy the moment, so we watched the procession and I took a bunch of video and these pics!

Bike Party 2

Bike Party 4Bike Party 5Bike Party 6

The challenge inspired me to slap this video together as well, as I have been meaning to for awhile. It gives you a better sense of the ‘swarm’ . I also think it gives a decent view into the diversity of The Bay Area right now. When we arrived, there was a matinee comedy event happening that may have been a private thing, I couldn’t tell, but as you can see it was a pretty dull affair that consisted of what appeared to me to be people from the tech industry. One single continuous shot from inside the club through the front door and into the street opens up a whole different vibe. This was on Telegraph Ave in the heart of Oakland on an early Friday evening.

I wanted some music in the background and I sort of randomly chose this Flaming Groovies song ‘Shake Some Action’ and it really worked out better than I anticipated. The Groovies are also a Bay Area band and that jives with the whole thing!! I think the video tells a story now.

Enjoy!

Bike Party Video!!!

Bike Party 5


Leave a Reply

